Monday, August 8, 2022
HomeEntertainment NewsA big shout out to “GET OUT” and “LADY BIRD” for bagging...

A big shout out to “GET OUT” and “LADY BIRD” for bagging 2018 Independent Spirit Award

Hurray, Yesterday (March 4, 2018) was an unusual gala night with Oscars as the night before yesterday was influenced by Independent Spirit Award. Both of these ceremonies came out to predict the Winner of the Best Film Category – both Spotlight and Moonlight won the ISA’s top honour. Top honours at this year’s ceremony are bagged by Get Out and Jordan Peele for Best Director. Peele pulls out a big win tonight. At the very least, the Oscars don’t have Nick Kroll and John Mulaney introducing the ceremony, which easily puts the flashy spectacle of the Academy Awards far below the Independent Spirit Awards in terms of enjoyment.

lady bird

Certainly, though Sam Rockwell and Allison Janney once again won the Best Supporting Actor and Actress prizes, keeping other awards withstand anticipation. Timothee Chalamet grabbed home Best Male Lead for his work in Call Me By Your Name. Frances McDormand nabbed another trophy for her fantastic work in the otherwise virulent Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, while The Big Sick and Lady Bird nabbed the major screenwriting awards. Most memorably, the Robert Altman Award was given to Dee Rees, her casting directors, and her cast for Mudbound. All of this and an uproarious Andy Samberg makes it a bit hard to argue against the fact that in its 33rd year, the Independent Spirit Awards were still the most down-to-earth and genuinely entertaining of the televised award shows.

Get Out, independentspirit award
Here’s the full list of winners from last night’s Independent Spirit Awards:

Best Feature :

Get Out (Universal Pictures)
Producers: Jason Blum, Edward H. Hamm Jr., Sean McKittrick, Jordan Peele

Best Director:
Jordan Peele, Get Out (Universal Pictures)

Best Screenplay:
Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird (A24)

Best First Feature:

Ingrid Goes West (NEON)
Director: Matt Spicer
Producers: Jared Ian Goldman, Adam Mirels, Robert Mirels, Aubrey Plaza,
Tim White, Trevor White

Best First Screenplay:

Emily V. Gordon, Kumail Nanjiani, The Big Sick (Amazon Studios)

John Cassavetes Award (For best feature made under $500,000):
Life and Nothing More (CFI Releasing)
Writer/Director: Antonio Méndez Esparza
Producers: Amadeo Hernández Bueno, Alvaro Portanet Hernández,
Pedro Hernández Santos

Best Supporting Female:

Allison Janney, I, Tonya (NEON)

Best Supporting Male:

Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (Fox Searchlight)

Best Female Lead:

Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
(Fox Searchlight)

Best Male Lead:

Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name (Sony Pictures Classics)

Robert Altman Award:

Mudbound (Netflix)
Director: Dee Rees
Casting Directors: Billy Hopkins, Ashley Ingram
Ensemble Cast: Jonathan Banks, Mary J. Blige, Jason Clarke, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Mitchell, Rob Morgan, Carey Mulligan

Best Cinematography:
Sayombhu Mukdeeprom, Call Me by Your Name (Sony Pictures Classics)

Best Editing:
Tatiana S. Riegel, I, Tonya (NEON)

Best International Film:

A Fantastic Woman (Chile – Sony Pictures Classics)
Director: Sebastián Lelio

Best Documentary:

Faces Places (Cohen Media Group)
Directors: Agnés Varda, JR
Producer: Rosalie Varda

Like this story? Keep yourself updated with eminent feeds & news

Connect with us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

Get in touch with us:


Most Popular